DSI has a three-tiered organization. Its top management level is the General Directorate office in Ankara. The secondary management level is also the department offices of General Directorate in Ankara. The tertiary management level consists of the Field or Regional Directorate offices. At present, there are 26 Regional Directorates dispersed throughout Turkey.

The 26 Regional Directorates are comprised of Central Regional Offices, Field Division Offices and Field Section Offices. Major functions of these offices are firstly collect data in the field of mapping, hydrometric measurements, agricultural economy, land classification, drainage, groundwater and geology, and secondly to evaluate them for the planning, construction and operation of water structures.